Accelerating the Adoption of Electric Vehicles in the USA

The “DRIVE Electric USA” initiative is developing state-based “Drive Electric” programs across the U.S. that are engaging individuals, utilities, legislators, dealerships, and others towards removing adoption barriers and accelerating plug-in electric vehicle use.

East Tennessee Clean Fuels and Clean Fuels Ohio logos

Project Overview

Participating States

DEUSA project partner states map
DRIVE Electric USA logo

Driving State-based EV Adoption

The ”DRIVE Electric USA” (DEUSA) initiative is providing funding and guidance to state partnerships to help them fully build their own statewide “Drive Electric” programs. The purpose of the DEUSA initiative is to break down barriers to accelerating EV education and awareness, engagement, and adoption. We will use our states as great and dissimilar examples of how to successfully build statewide, successful efforts to accelerate the purchase and use of EVs of all sizes by general citizens and fleets.

To fully realize this, project leaders and their partners have been and will continue to educate consumers, utilities, utility regulators, and government officials; engage auto dealers and fleet leaders; conduct corridor and community EV infrastructure planning; and develop local EV chapters. Please visit the “Priority Areas” (PAs) menu to access info about the PAs as well as specific pages related to each PA. All of this is and will occur in each state (or DC) under the banner of a statewide EV initiative, which will be guided by that state’s stakeholders.

Hastening transportation electrification in the USA brings benefits to Americans, including reduced emissions (both greenhouse gas and criteria pollutants), supporting the growth of clean-energy jobs in EV manufacturing and the related Tier 2 and 3 jobs, and developing more equitable transportation solutions for all citizens (not just single-occupancy vehicles – electrified mass transit, bicycles, scooters, ridesharing, and more).

DEUSA Replication Playbook

Success Stories & Best Practices from DEUSA1 Project

One of our primary charges from the DEUSA1 project was to create a “Replication Playbook” or set of success stories from each of our Priority Areas – or barrier-reduction – efforts. Across our 14 state-centric initiatives, each team created three stories, and then these were compiled by Priority Area (abbreviated as “PA” across the document), which resulted in between 5-7 stories in each PA category of addressing EV adoption barriers.

The introduction provides some project background, a description of what each initiative was tasked with doing over the three years in the project (the specific subtasks of work), and then short briefs on their work and what was learned. The full stories from each initiative include the gist of  the what/when/who/where/how/why, photos and graphics related to the work, and then both Outputs & Outcomes and Best Practices & Lessons Learned from the work. Access the entire Replication Playbook below, or delve directly into the subsets of stories from each Priority Area.

The purpose of the Replication Playbook is to allow other states, regions, or communities to learn from the efforts of all 14 of our states, and speed your success towards building relationships to hasten EV adoption in your area!/strong>

DEUSA Replication Playbook cover

Participating State Drive Electric Programs

Drive Electric Tennessee

East Tennessee Clean Fuels
www.DriveElectricTN.org
Jonathan Overly
jonathan@etcleanfuels.org

Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Instagram icon
Drive Electric Ohio logo

Drive Electric Ohio

Clean Fuels Ohio
www.DriveElectricOhio.org
Jacob Schwemlein
Jacob@cleanfuelsohio.org

Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Instagram icon
Drive Electric AL logo

Drive Electric Alabama

Alabama Clean Fuels Coalition
www.DriveElectricAlabama.org
Mark Bentley
mark@alabamacleanfuels.org

Drive Electric Arizona

Valley of the Sun EVA
www.DriveElectricAZ.org
John S. Martinson

jsmartinson@valleyofthesuneva.org

Drive Electric Colorado logo

Drive Electric Colorado

Drive Clean Colorado
www.DriveElectricColorado.org
Julia Davila
julia@drivecleanco.org

Facebook icon
Instagram iconColorful twitter logo, blue
Drive Electric DC logo

Drive Electric DC

Greater Washington Region Clean Cities
www.driveelectricdc.org
Antoine Thompson
antoine.thompson@gwrccc.org

Drive Electric Florida logo

Drive Electric Florida

University of Central Florida
www.DriveElectricFlorida.org
Colleen Kettles
ckettles@fsec.ucf.edu

Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Drive Electric Georgia logo

Drive Electric Georgia

Clean Cities-Georgia
www.DriveElectricGeorgia.org
Frank Morris
frank@cleancitiesgeorgia.org

Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Colorful LinkedIn logo, blue
GO EV Indiana logo

GO EV IN

Drive Clean Indiana
www.goevin.com
Carl Lisek
clisek@drivecleanindiana.org

Electrify Kansas logo

Electrify Kansas

Kansas City Regional Clean Cities & Central Kansas Clean Cities
ElectrifyHeartland.org
Jenna Znamenak, Taylor Corn
jenna@metroenergy.org

DriveElectricLA logo

Drive Electric Louisiana

Louisiana Clean Fuels
www.DriveElectricLA.com
Ann Vail
ann@louisianacleanfuels.org

Facebook iconTwitter iconInstagram icon

Drive Electric MN logo

Drive Electric Minnesota

Great Plains Institute / MN Clean Cities
www.driveelectricmn.org
Lisa Thurstin
lisa.thurstin@lung.org

Electrify Missouri logo

Electrify Missouri

St. Louis Clean Cities & Kansas City Regional Clean Cities
ElectrifyHeartland.org
Kevin Herdler & Laura Jones
clnfuel@gmail.com, laura@regent-power.com

Mission Electric

Empire Clean Cities
www.missionelectric.org
Joy Gardner
joy@empirecleancities.org

Facebook iconTwitter iconInstagram icon

plug-in nc logo

plug-in nc

Triangle Clean Cities
www.pluginnc.org
Sean Flaherty
sflaherty@tjcog.org

Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Instagram icon
Drive Electric Pennsylvania logo

Drive Electric Pennsylvania

Eastern PA – Alliance for Clean Transportation
www.DriveElectricPA.org
Tony Bandiero
tbandiero@ep-act.org

Instagram icon
Drive Electric Utah logo

Drive Electric Utah

Utah Clean Cities
www.DriveElectricUtah.org
Tammie Bostick
tammie.bostick@
utahcleancities.org

Facebook iconTwitter iconInstagram icon

Drive Electric Virginia logo

Virginia EV

Virginia Clean Cities
www.VirginiaEV.org
Matt Wade
mwade@vacleancities.org

Drive Electric Wisconsin logo

Drive Electric Wisconsin

Wisconsin Clean Cities
www.DriveElectricWisconsin.org
Lorrie Lisek
lorrie.lisek@wicleancities.org

Drive Electric CT logo

Connecticut Initiative

Capitol Clean Cities of Connecticut
www.livegreenct.org
Daphne Dixon
daphne@livegreenct.org

Image coming - MI

Drive Electric Michigan

Michigan Clean Cities
www.michigancleancities.org
Maggie Striz Calnin
maggie@michigancleancities.org

Drive Electric MT logo coming

Drive Electric Montana

Drive Electric Montana
www.driveelectricmontana.org
Dr. Jesse Therien
jesse@ytcleancities.org

New Jersey logo

Drive Electric New Jersey

New Jersey Clean Cities
https://njcleancities.org
Chuck Feinberg
chuck.feinberg@gmail.com

Oklahoma EV logo

Oklahoma Initiative

Central Oklahoma Clean Cities
www.okcleancities.org
Eric Pollard
epollard@acogok.org

Image coming - WY

Drive Electric Wyoming

Yellowstone-Teton Clean Cities
www.ytcleancities.org
Alicia Cox
alicia@ytcleancities.org

Sponsors

Orange EV logo

Orange EV’s pure-electric terminal trucks are a ‘beachhead’ technology – they can help us expand use of pure EVs in HD applications. Orange EV’s commercially deployed fleet has achieved unparalleled milestones – including uptime performance – in terminal truck operations. As of November 2021, the deployed Orange EV fleet has surpassed 1.1 million hours and 3.7 million miles of operation. The T-Series is meeting the most rigorous duty cycles and 24×7 shift schedules in container handling operations across the U.S., Canada and the Caribbean. Visit their website at www.orangeev.com.

Supporters

We appreciate our supporters who share the understanding that we need to work on electrifying transportation in the USA as quickly as we can!
Would you like to become a Supporter? Click here.

DEUSA Webinar – Nov. 2023

GET SOCIAL!

Follow the DRIVE Project
and join the online
conversations!

Facebook-icon
X icon
LinkedIn icon
Instagram icon
"Sign up for E-mail updates", green lettering

We appreciate the DOE and its Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy for selecting our projects and allowing us to build such a far-reaching, collaborative, and impactful opportunity and initiative! 

US Department of Energy, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy logo